Geography and Population

Cyprus is situated in the eastern Mediterranean, lying at the hub of three continents and close to the busy trade routes linking Europe with the Arab World and the Far East.

Its strategic location, has attracted, for thousands of years, many different empires which have used Cyprus as a regional base (Alexander the Great, Roman Empire, Byzantine Empire, Ottoman Empire, British Empire).

Cyprus’ total area is 9.251 km2. and it is the third largest island in the Mediterranean, after the Italian islands of Sicily and Sardinia. The island enjoys an excellent climate with about 300 days of sunshine per year. The temperature varies from 6°C to 13°C in winter to 21°C to 36°C in summer.

The island’s population is estimated at approximately 1.2million in 2018. The official languages of the Republic are Greek and Turkish, but English is widely spoken and regularly used in business. Nicosia, with an estimated population of approximately 300,000, is the capital city and situated in the middle of the island. All other major cities are on the coast (Larnaca, Limassol & Paphos) and all are popular holiday resorts, as well as business centres. 

Time Zone

(GMT +02:00)
 Its time zone is 7 hours ahead of New York and 7 hours behind Tokyo, allowing executives to work with the world’s most important financial centres in the same working day. 

Related Articles